Q-Park announces Student Award winners

WDQ_Website_16X9_ 646px Building blocks.png

Q-Park and Erasmus University Rotterdam today held the Annual Student Award and Thought Leader Event at the Muziekgieterij in Maastricht. Some 90 guests attended the event where the theme was Urban Mobility & Behaviour.

Inspiring presentations

This year’s programme included two thought-provoking guest presentations from industry specialists:

  • Carlo van de Weijer, Managing Director of Eindhoven AI Systems Institute (EAISI) at TU Eindhoven and a smart mobility expert talked about Mobility post-Corona and gave a brief run-down of trends and some new thought-provoking insights into the future of mobility.
  • Frank Quix, Managing Director of Q&A Insights & Consultancy and a retail expert talked about shopping and behaviour. He had some interesting insights for us regarding retail trends on the route back to (the new) normal.

Q-Park Student Award 2021

The Q-Park Student Award makes a valuable contribution to bridging the knowledge gap in parking and mobility. This award, which is jointly run by Q-Park and Erasmus University Rotterdam, is open to all European universities. Since its inception in 2014 more than 50 theses have participated.

This year, a total of ten theses were submitted from five different institutes: Maastricht University, TU Delft, Erasmus University, Israel Institute of Technology, and Antwerp University. A jury of Parking & Mobility Experts and academics from various universities, all involved in urban mobility, assessed the submissions and selected three finalists. Each of the winning students gave a brief presentation of their research and findings.

The winners are:

  • Edward Heath, TU Delft: Solar charging electric vehicles
  • Marlou Tiesinga, TU Delft: A new perspective on residential parking policy
  • Mateusz Wiza, Maastricht University: Parking facility performance prediction using multi-target conformal regression

Following the presentations, Theo Thuis, managing director of innovation at Q-Park BV presented the winners with a cheque for €1500.

Student Award 2021

From left to right: Edward Heath, Jeroen Quee, holding the cheque for Marlou Tiesinga who was unable to attend, and Mateusz Wiza.